Muharram, The Sacred Month Of Allah

Muharram, The Sacred Month Of Allah

Muharram, The Sacred Month Of Allah

“Verily, the number of months with Allah is twelve months (in a year), so it was ordained by Allah on the Day when He created the heavens and the earth; of them, four are sacred [(i.e. the first, the seventh, the 11th and the 12 months]. That is the right religion, so wrong not yourselves therein.”
[Qur’an Surah al-Tawbah 9:36]
Based on numerous Hadith, scholars and interpreters unanimously agree that the four months are Muharram; Dhul Qa’dah (11th); Dhul Hijjah (12th), and Rajab (7th).

While every month in the Islamic year is regarded as sacred and Ramadan the most, these four were specifically named as their sanctity was observed even by the pagan tribes before the Prophet’s (saw) lifetime.

It was narrated by Abu Bakrah (ra) that the Prophet (saw) said: “Time has come back to its original state which it had when Allah created the Heavens and the Earth; the year is 12 months, four of which are sacred. Three of them are in succession: Dhul Qa‘dah, Dhul Hijjah, Al Muharram and Rajab of Mudar [named after the tribe of Mudar as they used to respect this month], which stands between Jumada (ath-Thani) and Sha‘ban”’.
(Hadith Bukhari)

More: Life Of Muslim | Muslim Life | Muslim News | Islam News | Quran | Hadith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Search Life Of Muslim


Subscribe Us:

Enter your email address to subscribe Life Of Muslim and receive notifications of new posts by email.